Real Life Hacking

“The original definition of hack was a fiddle that improved a process or program.” The Center for Make/Hack/Play blogged by Bud Hunt very eye opening when it came to negative thoughts on hacking. When he stated the quote from above it made me think a lot about how I could use hacking in my future, or how I’ve even already used it in my past. If you think about it any time you’ve made anything in your life easier by either making something or finding a better system is a form of hacking.

How can we use hacking in the class room though? It think when it comes to school there are many things we can hack. We can hack better clearer lesson plans, better class interactions, and even better ways to communicate with students. When we think of hack we can get deeper than that though. We can look into ways to better manage our times so we can have more one on one time with students. We can take that time to get to know them better and adjust to help them each learn in their own unique way. We can take that time to help them be themselves and support their decision and goals. We as teachers shouldn’t be our students friends, but we should take the responsibility to be evolved in our students lives to better help them achieve their goals. I think hacking and helping our students be creative come hand and hand.

87158908_7116e00a7d_q
Photo CC by Doug Jennings

In this weeks TED Talk , we had a young man talk about how not being in traditional school and learning in a different setting really helped him excel in his learning. He talked about how he used to hate writing, but how he found a real passion in it when he began to write about what he really enjoyed! We as teachers should try our best to let our students be themselves and be creative while still providing a learning environment.

I had a teacher my 9th and 11th grade years in high school who i think did this really well. We would come into class every Wednesday and he would have a very open writing prompt. It would generally be about two pages then  every Friday he would turn them back to us with great feed back on them. HE would ask us about our lives all the time and he would even talk to our parents about us if he saw them in public. He was the definition of a teach that was their for the students benefit. I hope to become this type of teach but with my own style in the future.

Author: blaineslitdigclass

Hi everyone! My name is Blaine McMahon and welcome to my Literacy in the Digital Age  blog page! I am currently a student at Chadron State College working on my major to become a history teacher. I am also working on getting a coaching endorsement to hopefully one day become a high school football coach as well. On that note I am a crazy football fan (Green Bay Packers, and Nebraska Corn Huskers), and I spend most of my Sundays and Saturdays in the fall watching and learning the sport to the best of my abilities. I'm also a frequent PC gamer and love the world of the internet. I hope to perform well in this class and hope the same for all of my peers. This years going to be lit!

Leave a Reply

